Tags

, , ,

Get off the Couch!! – I don’t recommend people to start running, if they don’t walk first. Start slow!  For good health, we need about 30 mins of cardiovascular exercise 5-6 days a week.  Do something that gets your heart pumping and blood moving.  There are plenty of websites that will help track your progress.  I will be honest, there is no way I can run 5-6 days a week.  So, I try to run 3-4 days a week for about 1 hour.  Are you interested in training for a 5K (3.1 miles), how about a half-marathon, or a whole marathon?  Start with short term goals and work up.  Again, there are plenty of websites, here is my favorite: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

You don’t have to join a gym, but definitely check with your insurance.  Some insurances are actually paying for your gym membership, which I think is brilliant.  After all, it is cheaper that paying for a hospital stay after a heart attack! Just saying..

